Meet the tutors

Course Directors

Cathy Bowden

DELTA course director, CELTA and IH BET1 tutor
I’ve been teaching EFL since 1996 in Lithuania and The Czech Republic. I’ve been at AKCENT IH Prague since September 2000. I train teachers on the International House courses for teaching English for business (IH BET1) and teaching one-to-one, as well as CELTA. Out of school, I enjoy playing cards, socialising, reading, quizzes and walking (as long as the weather’s just right and there aren’t too many hills!).


Leona Máslová

Head of Teacher Training Centre
CELTA Course Director & DELTA Tutor
I have been involved in teaching and teacher training since 1995, in Hungary, Russia, South Africa and the Czech Republic. At AKCENT IH Prague I work on CELTA, DELTA and TKT courses. In my free time I like travelling, reading and going to my favourite yoga class.



Alžběta Polišenská

I have taught English since 1993. I received Trinity Licentiate Diploma in ELT in 1998 and I have been involved in teacher training since 2001. I’m based in Brno and work on CELTA courses in Brno and Prague. If I’m not travelling between these two places, I like hiking, photography, listening to music or sometimes just staying in and reading.


Jaime Lilley

I have been teaching EFL in Prague full time since 2004, and before that was involved in literacy training and tutoring in English for academic purposes in Southern California. Currently, I am a teacher and a teacher trainer at AKCENT. I’m a CELTA and DELTA tutor, and I also teach the IHBET1 and Cambridge TKT courses and others when I’m needed. When I’m not otherwise engaged, I enjoy hanging around in my pyjamas, consuming stories in all kinds of ways, taking photographs, traveling and spending time with my extra nice husband.


Dana Hánková

I graduated in Pedagogy from Charles University, Prague, and have taught both children and adults – mainly the latter in recent years. Teacher training now takes up an increasing amount of my time, particularly training on DELTA courses. My other interests include outdoor sports activities, reading and my two children.